There’s no doubt that cars with tinted windows look cool, but do you know the Colorado window tint law? If you have tinted windows or plan to get your car windows tinted, you are in the right place. We’ve gathered all the legal information you need to know about Colorado tint laws.
- 1 Legal Window Tint in Colorado
- 2 Colorado Window Tint Law – Regulations
- 3 Benefits of Window Tinting
- 4 Car Window Tint Cost
- 5 Sources
First, Let me Explain What VLT Means?
VLT Visible Light Transmission is the percent of visible light that gets through your car windows. In other words, the lower the VLT%, the darker the tint gets. For example, 5 % would be a very dark tint. Furthermore, the state of Colorado has a different VLT% for some windows, as you can see below.
Legal Window Tint in Colorado
- Windshield: Non-reflective 70% VLT on the top 4 inches
- Front side windows: 27% VLT
- Backside windows: 27% VLT
- Rear window: 27% VLT
Note: backside and rear windows may allow less than 27 % vlt if the front side windows and the windshield on such vehicles allow at least 70% vlt.
Vehicles registered outside Colorado but operated in Colorado required at least 20% of light through windows other than the windshield.
Colorado Window Tint Law – Regulations
Colorado Window Tint Law – Exemption
Below are the exemptions to Window Tint requirements.
- Law Enforcement
Colorado Window Tint law- Medical Exemption
Unfortunately, the state of Colorado does not allow a medical exemption for unique tinted windows.
side mirrors needed if the rear window tinted
The material does not reflect sunlight or headlight glare into occupants’ eyes of oncoming or preceding vehicles to any greater extent than the windshield without the material. Also, no metallic or mirror appearance is allowed.
Red or Amber is no permitted
Window Tint Certification / Label
FAQ – Colorado window Tint Law
- Is it illegal to have a tinted windshield? No, you can tint it above the top 4 inches.
- What is the Legal Tint in Colorado? 70% for the windshield and 27% for other windows.
- Are tinted windows illegal in Colorado? No. But you must follow the proper window tint limit according to the state law.
- What is the darkest tint allowed in Colorado? Windows to the rear of the driver, including the rear window, can use less than 27% if the front side windows and the windshield allow 70% light transmittance.
- Is 5% tint legal in Colorado? The same answer stated above; windows to the rear of the driver, including the rear window, can use less than 27% if the front side windows and the windshield allow 70% light transmittance.
- Is it illegal to tint your front windows? No.
- Colored tint legal? Red or Amber is no permitted.
Benefits of Window Tinting
Window tinting blocks up to 99% of the UV rays. The car interior cools by 60%. It also can help protect from ultraviolet radiation and help protect your car’s interior from cracking or fading and looking worn-out. Another great benefit is the level of privacy, which can prevent someone who walks by to peer inside.
Car Window Tint Cost
In general, the cost may vary; for example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle. However, suppose you want a top-quality film such as ceramic window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per vehicle. Of course, all depend on different factors (number of windows, type of tint, warranty). On the other hand, a cheaper option for professional tinting services is a DIY tint kit, which usually costs less than $100.
Note: Keep in mind that Colorado tint laws can change daily and be interpreted differently in your city or county. To be sure, we recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or Law Enforcement Authorities. Furthermore, please let us know if there are any further changes to make.