Louisiana tint law image


There’s no doubt that cars with tinted windows look cool, but do you know the Louisiana tint laws? If you have tinted windows or plan to get your car windows tinted, you are in the right place. We’ve gathered all the legal information you need to know about Louisiana window tint law.


First, Let me Explain What VLT Means?

VLT Visible Light Transmission is the percent of visible light that gets through your car windows. In other words, the lower the VLT%, the darker the tint gets. For example, 5 % would be a very dark tint. Furthermore, the state of Louisiana has a different VLT% for front and back windows, as you can see below.


Legal Tint in Louisiana for Passenger vehicles

  • Windshield:  Non- reflective tint allowed above the AS-1 line or top 5 inches
  • Front side windows: 40% VLT  
  • Backside windows: 25% VLT
  • Rear window: 12% VLT

Legal Tint in Louisiana for Multi-purpose Vehicles

  • Windshield: Non- reflective tint allowed above the AS-1 line or top 5 inches
  • Front side windows: 40% VLT  
  • Backside windows: No limitations
  • Rear window: No limitations



Louisiana tint law infographic



Louisiana Window Tint Law –  Regulations


Louisiana Tint Laws –  Exemption

Below are the exemptions to Window Tint requirements.

  • Law Enforcement – Vehicles that are maintained by a law enforcement agency and used for law enforcement purposes.


Medical Exemption for Window Tint in Louisiana

The Driver must obtain an optometrist or a physician’s written certification (affidavit), indicating that the special window treatment or application is a medical necessity. A copy of the letter needs to keep in the vehicle at all times.



Side mirrors 

no restrictions

Tint Reflection

No more than 20% reflective

Color Tint 

Red or amber prohibited

Window Tint Certification / Label

Film manufacturers need to certify the film selling in the state.

Louisiana’s state required a label/sticker to identify legally tinted windows, which contains the installer’s name and city where the business is located.


Up to $150 for the first offense, up to $250 for a second offense, and up to $350 for a third or subsequent offense. 




Benefits of  Window Tinting

Window tinting blocks up to 99% of the UV rays. The car interior cools by 60%. It also can help protect from ultraviolet radiation and help protect your car’s interior from cracking or fading and looking worn-out. Another great benefit is the level of privacy, which can prevent someone who walks by to peer inside.

Car Window Tint Cost

In general, the cost may vary; for example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle. However, suppose you want a top-quality film such as ceramic window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per vehicle. Of course, all depend on different factors (number of windows, type of tint, warranty). On the other hand, a cheaper option for professional tinting services is a DIY tint kit, which usually costs less than $100.









Note: Keep in mind that Louisiana tint laws can change daily and be interpreted differently in your city or county. To be sure, we recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or Law Enforcement Authorities. Furthermore, please let us know if there are any further changes to be made.