North Carolina tint law image


There’s no doubt that cars with tinted windows look cool, but do you know the NC tint laws? If you have tinted windows or plan to get your car windows tinted, you are in the right place. We’ve gathered all the legal information you need to know about NC window tint law.


First, Let me Explain What VLT Means?

VLT Visible Light Transmission is the percent of visible light that gets through your car windows. In other words, the lower the VLT%, the darker the tint gets. For example, 5 % would be a very dark tint. Furthermore, the state of North Carolina has a different VLT% for front and back windows, as you can see below.


Legal Tint in NC – Passenger Vehicles

  • Windshield: 35% tint allowed above the AS-1 line or the top 5.”
  • Front side windows:   35% or more visible light transmission 
  • Backside windows: 35% or more visible light transmission 
  • Rear window: 35% or more visible light transmission 

Legal Tint in NC – Multi-purpose Vehicles

  • Windshield: 35% tint allowed above the AS-1 line or the top 5.”
  • Front side windows:   35% or more visible light transmission 
  • Backside windows: Any % VLT 
  • Rear window: Any % VLT


North Carolina tint law infographic


 Legal Window Tint in NC – Regulations


 NC Window Tint  –  Exemption

Below are the exemptions to Window Tint requirements.

  • Law Enforcement – Vehicles that are maintained by a law enforcement agency and used for law enforcement purposes.
  • Medical Exception – used by persons for medical reasons.
  • Ambulances
  • Motor Homes
  • Limousines
  • Excursion passenger vehicles
  • Property-hauling vehicles (rear window only)


NC Window Tint – Medical Exemption

The department shall issue medical exemption certificates to persons with medical conditions.

For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult NC state law below.




Reflective Window tint

According to NC tint law, windows may have a reflective tint of 20% or less.

Color Tint 

Tinted film material shall not be red, yellow, or amber.

Window Tint Certification / Label

 Label or certification isn’t required.


 FAQ –  NC Tint Laws

  • Are you allowed to tint your front windows? Yes, (check the infographic for more details).
  • How dark can my tint be in North Carolina? Any % VLT allowed for multi-purpose vehicles (backside and rear windows only)
  • What is the Legal Tint in North Carolina? It varies depending on the window and vehicle; please check the infographic on this page for more details.
  • Can you tint your windshield in North Carolina? Yes, 35% tint allowed above the AS-1 line or the top 5″ of the windshield.
  •  Is 5% tint legal in NC? yes, (check the infographic for more details).
  • How to get a prescription for window tint? Please check the link above for more details.


Benefits of  Window Tinting

Window tinting blocks up to 99% of the UV rays. The car interior cools by 60%. It also can help protect from ultraviolet radiation and help protect your car’s interior from cracking or fading and looking worn-out. Another great benefit is the level of privacy, which can prevent someone who walks by to peer inside.

Car Window Tint Cost

In general, the cost may vary; for example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle. However, suppose you want a top-quality film such as ceramic window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per vehicle. Of course, all depend on different factors (number of windows, type of tint, warranty). On the other hand, a cheaper option for professional tinting services is a DIY tint kit, which usually costs less than $100.







*Keep in mind that NC tint laws can change daily and may be interpreted differently in your city or county. To be sure, we recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or Law Enforcement Authorities.