There’s no doubt that cars with tinted windows look cool, but do you know the window tint laws in New Jersey? If you have tinted windows or plan to get your car windows tinted, you are in the right place. We’ve gathered all the legal information you need to know about NJ window tint law.
- 1 Legal Window Tint in NJ
- 2 New Jersey Window Tint Laws – Regulations
- 3 Benefits of Window Tinting
- 4 Car Window Tint Cost
- 5 Sources
First, Let me Explain What VLT Means?
VLT Visible Light Transmission is the percent of visible light that gets through your car windows. In other words, the lower the VLT%, the darker the tint gets. For example, 5 % would be a very dark tint. Furthermore, the state of New Jersey has a different VLT% for front and back windows, as you can see below.
Legal Window Tint in NJ
- Windshield: No tint allowed except those with medical conditions
- Front side windows: no tint allowed except those with medical conditions
- Backside windows: Any VLT %
- Rear window: Any VLT %
New Jersey Window Tint Laws – Regulations
NJ Window Tint law- Medical Exemption
Individuals who have a medical condition involving ophthalmic or dermatological photosensitivity may apply for a medical exemption. To apply, please follow the steps below:
- Step 1- Complete application “MVC Sunscreening 1” You may also request this application by e-mailing SUNSCREENING@mvc.nj.gov or by calling 609-984-2973.
- Step 2- Submit completed application with Step 4 filled out by your physician and a valid prescription to SUNSCREENING@mvc.nj.gov or:
Customer Advocacy Office
Attn: Sunscreening Exemption
PO Box 403
Trenton, NJ 08666-0403
side mirrors needed if the rear window is tinted
no mirrored appearance
Window Tint Certification / Label
FAQ – NJ window Tint Law
- What is the Legal Tint in NJ? Any darkness can be applied to the backside or rear windows of the vehicle.
- Are tinted windows illegal in NJ? yes and no, windshield and front windows, you cannot have any tint. The backside and rear windows, you are fine.
- How to get a medical exemption for window tint? You need to complete an application. You can find it under medical exemptions.
- What medical conditions qualify for window tint? Individuals who have a medical condition involving ophthalmic or dermatological photosensitivity
- Can you get pulled over for dark-tinted windows? If your windshield or front side windows are tinted, you probably get pulled over. Otherwise, you should be fine since any darkness can be used to the backside and rear windows.
Benefits of Window Tinting
Window tinting blocks up to 99% of the UV rays. The car interior cools by 60%. It also can help protect from ultraviolet radiation and help protect your car’s interior from cracking or fading and looking worn-out. Another great benefit is the level of privacy, which can prevent someone who walks by to peer inside.
Car Window Tint Cost
In general, the cost may vary; for example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle. However, suppose you want a top-quality film such as ceramic window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per vehicle. Of course, all depend on different factors (number of windows, type of tint, warranty). On the other hand, a cheaper option for professional tinting services is a DIY tint kit, which usually costs less than $100.
Note: Keep in mind that New Jersey window tint laws can change daily and may be interpreted differently in your city or county. To be sure, we recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or Law Enforcement Authorities. Furthermore, please let us know if there are any further changes to be made.