Some people may not know that tinted window laws in Ohio are constantly changing. If you’re planning on installing or removing car window tints, make sure to check the current OH auto regulations. Hence, your vehicle stays compliant with state law and avoids fines from a police officer for breaking these standards. We’ve gathered all the legal information you need to know about Ohio tint laws.
- 1 What is the Legal Window Tint in Ohio?
- 2 – Others Regulations you need to know
- 3 What are the Benefits of Window Tinting?
- 4 How Much Car Window Tint Cost?
- 5 Sources
What VLT Means?
VLT Visible Light Transmission is the percent of visible light that gets through your car windows. In other words, the lower the VLT%, the darker the tint gets. For example, 5 % would be a very dark tint. Furthermore, the state of Ohio has a different VLT% for front and back windows, as you can see below.
What is the Legal Window Tint in Ohio?
- Windshield: Non-reflective 70% for the top 5” or AS-1 Line
- Front side windows: 50% or more visible light transmission
- Backside windows: Any VLT % Allowed, however side mirrors required if tint below 50% VLT
- Rear window: Any VLT % Allowed; however, side mirrors required if tint below 50% VLT
– Others Regulations you need to know
Below are the exemptions to Window Tint laws requirements.
- Vehicles that are maintained by a law enforcement agency and used for law enforcement purposes.
- vehicles designed and used to transport corpses
– Medical Exemption
The driver must have an affidavit signed by a physician licensed to practice in the state.
side mirrors required if tint below 50% VLT
Red and Yellow no permitted
Window Tint Certification
Each manufacturer shall certify to the department of public safety that the manufacturer’s material or assembles comply with the luminous reflectance and light transmission.
The required a label that is no larger than one and one-half inches by one and one-half inches between the material and each glazing surface to which it is applied to contain the manufacturer’s name and percentage level of light transmission.
- Can you tint your windshield in Ohio? yes, Non-reflective 70% above the top 5” or AS-1 Line
- What is the Legal Tint in Ohio? It varies depending on the window of the vehicle. For more details, please check the infographic located on this page.
- Is 5% tint legal in Ohio? Yes, for back-side and rear windows only.
What are the Benefits of Window Tinting?
Window tinting blocks up to 99% of the UV rays. The car interior cools by 60%. It also can help protect from ultraviolet radiation and help protect your car’s interior from cracking or fading and looking worn-out. Another great benefit is the level of privacy, which can prevent someone who walks by to peer inside.
How Much Car Window Tint Cost?
In general, the cost may vary; for example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle. However, suppose you want a top-quality film such as ceramic window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per vehicle. Of course, all depend on different factors (number of windows, type of tint, warranty). On the other hand, a cheaper option for professional tinting services is a DIY tint kit, which usually costs less than $100.
Note: Keep in mind that Ohio tint laws can change daily and may be interpreted differently in your city or county. To be sure, we recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or Law Enforcement Authorities.