There’s no doubt that cars with tinted windows look cool, but do you know the Texas tint laws? If you have tinted windows or plan to get your car windows tinted, you are in the right place. We’ve gathered all the legal information you need to know about Texas window tint law.
- 1 Legal Window Tint in Texas
- 2 Texas Car Tint Laws – Regulations
- 3 Benefits of Window Tinting
- 4 Car Window Tint Cost
First, Let me Explain What VLT Means?
VLT Visible Light Transmission is the percent of visible light that gets through your car windows. In other words, the lower the VLT%, the darker the tint gets. For example, 5 % would be a very dark tint. Furthermore, the state of Texas has a different VLT% for front and back windows, as you can see below.
Legal Window Tint in Texas
- Windshield: 25% or more allowed on the top 5 inches or above AS-1 line
- Front side windows: 25% or more light transmission allowed
- Backside windows: Any dark tint allowed
- Rear window: Any dark tint allowed if have outside mirrors, otherwise 25% or more.
Texas Car Tint Laws – Regulations
Texas Car Window Tint Law – Exemption
Below are the exemptions to Window Tint requirements.
- Law Enforcement – Vehicles that are maintained by a law enforcement agency and used for law enforcement purposes.
- Medical Exception – used by persons for medical reasons.
- Passenger Transport – vehicles used to transport passengers regularly for a fee (i.e., taxi, limousine, and buses).
Texas Window Tint – Medical Exemption
Drivers must obtain a signed medical exemption statement from a licensed physician or licensed optometrist.
For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult TX state law below.
Reflective Window tint in Texas
According to Texas law, it must have a reflective tint of 25% or less.
Color Tint in Texas
According to Texas law, window tint may not be red, amber, or blue in color.
Window Tint Certification / Label
According to Texas tint law, film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell. One label is required to be attached to the driver’s side window.
FAQ – Texas Car window Tint Law
- How dark can you tint windows in Texas? Any darkness allowed for backside and rear windows (if you have outside mirrors).
- Legal Tint percentage in Texas? 25% is the legal limit for most windows.
- Is it legal to tint your windshield in Texas? Yes, 25% or more allowed on the top 5 inches or above the AS-1 line.
- Is 25% tint legal in Texas? yes
Benefits of Window Tinting
Window tinting blocks up to 99% of the UV rays. The car interior cools by 60%. It also can help protect from ultraviolet radiation and help protect your car’s interior from cracking or fading and looking worn-out. Another great benefit is the level of privacy, which can prevent someone who walks by to peer inside.
Car Window Tint Cost
In general, the cost may vary; for example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle. However, suppose you want a top-quality film such as ceramic window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per vehicle. Of course, all depend on different factors (number of windows, type of tint, warranty). On the other hand, a cheaper option for professional tinting services is a DIY tint kit, which usually costs less than $100.
*Keep in mind that Texas tint laws can change daily and may be interpreted differently in your city or county. To be sure, we recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or Law Enforcement Authorities. Furthermore please let us know if there are any changes to make.