There’s no doubt that cars with tinted windows look cool, but do you know the tint law in Virginia? If you have tinted windows or plan to get your car windows tinted, you are in the right place. We’ve gathered all the legal information you need to know about Virginia window tint law.


First, Let me Explain What VLT Means?

VLT Visible Light Transmission is the percent of visible light that gets through your car windows. In other words, the lower the VLT%, the darker the tint gets. For example, 5 % would be a very dark tint. Furthermore, the state of Virginia has a different VLT% for front and back windows, as you can see below.


Legal Tint in VA for Passenger vehicles

  • Windshield:  Non-reflective tint above AS-1 Line or top 5 inches
  • Front side windows: 50% VLT  
  • Backside windows: 35% VLT
  • Rear window: 35% VLT

Legal Tint in VA for Multi-purpose Vehicles

  • Windshield:  Non-reflective tint above AS-1 Line or top 5 inches
  • Front side windows: 50% VLT  
  • Backside windows: No limitations
  • Rear window: No limitations




Virginia Tint Law –  Regulations


Virginia Window Tint Law –  Exemption

Below are the exemptions to Window Tint requirements.

  • Law Enforcement – Vehicles that are maintained by a law enforcement agency and used for law enforcement purposes.
  • limousines
  • Government vehicles 
  • Emergency vehicles


Virginia Window Tint law- Medical Exemption

To apply for authorization from the DMV, The Driver must obtain a letter signed by a physician or optometrist indicating that the special window treatment or application is a medical necessity.

To apply for medical authorization, the person with the medical condition must submit a completed Sun-Shading Medical Authorization Application (MED-20) to

Data Integrity

Post Office Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001


Side mirrors 

side mirrors needed if the window is tinted

Tint Reflection

The state law prohibits a solar reflective greater than 20%

Color Tint 

A film that produces a holographic or prism effect is no permitted 

Window Tint Certification / Label

The state is not clear about this.


 FAQ –  Virginia window Tint Law

  • Is it illegal to tint your windshield? no, you can tint it above the top 5 inches 
  • What is the Legal Tint in VA? It varies. It all depends on the window and vehicle. ( please check the infographic above for more details).
  • Are tinted windows illegal in Virginia? No. But you must follow the proper limit window tint according to the state law.
  • What is the darkest tint you can get in Virginia? Any percentage/ darkness allowed for certain windows on multi-purpose vehicles.
  • Is 5% tint legal? yes, for the back-side and the rear window only. ( multi-purpose vehicles only).



Benefits of  Window Tinting

Window tinting blocks up to 99% of the UV rays. The car interior cools by 60%. It also can help protect from ultraviolet radiation and help protect your car’s interior from cracking or fading and looking worn-out. Another great benefit is the level of privacy, which can prevent someone who walks by to peer inside.

Car Window Tint Cost

In general, the cost may vary; for example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle. However, suppose you want a top-quality film such as ceramic window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per vehicle. Of course, all depend on different factors (number of windows, type of tint, warranty). On the other hand, a cheaper option for professional tinting services is a DIY tint kit, which usually costs less than $100.








Note: Keep in mind that Virginia tint laws can change daily and may be interpreted differently in your city or county. To be sure, we recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or Law Enforcement Authorities. Furthermore, please let us know if there are any further changes to be made.